top of page
  • balgoisa1279

words about my work

This semester I gave myself the opportunity to experiment, starting with different ideas regarding my upbringing, religious, social constructs, and divorces of my life. I landed on the serpent series by dragging my brush then knife's, paint across the canvas with generous portions of paint, something I never gave myself the liberty to do. I have chosen to renounce softness, and perfection; with inspiration of old expressionist masters, Greek sculptures and Salman Koshroo I started the serpent's torso studies. with these studies I choose to be bold, powerful, and take back control of my artistic upbringing.


revised:

I take control of my practice by renouncing soft lines and precise drawings because that's what I have been doing for over 20 years as an art student; I have chosen to be bold, diving into the world of abstraction using knife and brush-dragging techniques to create textured paintings. the elements of experimentation and transformation are found in the "serpent series" Inspired by old expressionist masters, Greek sculpture, and Salman Koshroo.


summer 2020

fall 2020


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page