top of page
  • balgoisa1279

MEDELLIN

nostalgia has been settling in about going back to Colombia specially bc my brother is there (he's my Yoda) and Colombia energizes me, i broke up with my bf and have been feeling depleted of emotional energy, going to Colombia is like going to a temple full of energy, being charged with the maternal umbilical chord of my motherland. been watching documentaries on more artist like Miriam Beerman, Cyndy Sherman, Mary Abbott and Carlos Almaraz. i loved their passion on their own view of the world, loved their styles and dedication they put into their work. reminds me of my dad. been listening to so much led zeppelin i feel his presence with me. all of them literally live for art. i feel like i wanna do that. just make art day and night. too bad I'm a broke student. for now. I decided to make a landscape out of my own wish to be transported back to the city i was born and raised. my favorite part about the city is the mountains, the colors and beautiful sunsets. the orange skies and perfect fresh nights. we're so close to the atmosphere thanks to the altitude it feels like we're in the middle of earth and the ethereal. i decided to use a mixture of knife and brush. I'm happy with it but i think i need to work more on my lights and give it more details and some light stains. i want it to look more soft and glowy. i need to see it and feel like I'm there.so i have to wait for it to dry. and I'm almost there. when i look at this i can hear the city around me. this is my cathedral, where my confessions live, the baptism of childhood, communion of life and fears that once plagued me.

i need more big canvases, when working with a knife more real state its a must.




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page